If I Could Wear the Smell of Rain

 

 

Image result for bird in rain                                                                                                     (image by Andrew Tong)

If I could wear the smell of rain

Taking comfort in its reign

Feeling washed and never blue

My falling tears would be named dew

No one would pity or pass me in judgment

Shadows no longer could smell pungent

No one would ever see me cry

Or scoff at tender feelings why

Falling in love with the mockingbird

Heals a heart, wearing vows begird

My troubles would seem so mysterious

I’d be elegant, and you’d be envious

Of my carefree and happy tunes

And how I avoided all life’s glooms

I would dance in the magic puddles

Never facing an enemy or seem to struggle

I’d sing off-key in the cold morning drizzle

Not giving thought to your cool dismissal

If only I could wear the smell of rain

I’d never miss you, instead I would be arcane

 

 

~m

4 comments

  1. Michael · February 16, 2017

    This is so well written…loved it! It is a bit hard emotionally knowing that this isn’t just creative writing for you…it comes from a heart that knows. I hope it soothed you a bit😘

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dont You Forget About Me · February 17, 2017

      I love that I’ve found my writing, though it is still very rough. But it does give me an outlet. 🙂
      Thank you so very much for the kind words. Encouragement is such a wonderful gift! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John Davis Frain · February 22, 2017

    You had me at the title. So nice. I’m not wise enough to understand the nuances of poetry, but I’m working on it. Thanks for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dont You Forget About Me · February 22, 2017

      I wouldn’t call myself a poet, so I think understanding what I write might muddy the perception of the true definition! Whatever the hell that might be!? 😉

      But I’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment