Affirmation

For most:

The story ends

When goals are reached

And accomplishments blend

 

Their aspirations fade

When destinations reached

Contentment is enough

Nothing more to teach.

 

Or is there?

 

For I must be a different creature:

Never satisfied with status quo

My heart force beats thirsty

My inner fire aglow

For more adventure

My goals are lofty

But for tomorrow

Will not be enough

Stepping-stones for today

I will have to apologize

For Many mistakes along my way

But truthfully, I didn’t lie

Yesterday it was true

It was what I wanted

You see you inspired

I believed I was wanted

You allowed me to see

What I could do better.

You gifted me sight,

Gumption and treasure

I will be eternally grateful

For your saving grace

Not just friendship

But the cruel efface

Of knowing you exist

I’m forever in debt

So rich beyond measure

 

I will never give up

Trying to do better

 

~m

6 comments

  1. Sumyanna · February 11

    Wonderful lines!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HemmingPlay · February 11

    There’s real power in what you conclude at the end of this. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. taurusingemini · February 12

    You have the drive, to make your self better, and, that’s a good thing, and you shouldn’t care if you fitted in with the norm of things, after all, it’s more important to stand out in a crowd, than to blend in…

    Like

Leave a Reply

