I Would Lie

 (publicity still from Les Miserables)

I would lie,

If it meant you never knew for you I cried

I would lie,

If it smoothed harsh words against your sacred pride

I would lie,

If it would guard my heart from never admitting love’s defeat

I would lie,

If you would offer up the moon as I serve at your feet

I would lie,

If it meant I could still hear your laugh as you breathed

I would lie,

If it meant I could feel your sigh unto me you as you are completely sheathed

I would lie,

If it meant I would get the chance to start over again

I would lie

If it meant my love would be hidden and we could only be friends

~m

5 comments

  1. VictoryInTrouble · August 9

    I’ve been here. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Modify Us · August 9

    This is a strong poem. Made me remind myself of the past :p Great work on this poem! I look forward to reading your other wonderful poems 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

