The Creek

 

 

Through ancestral woods exploring, I found a creek today

It was well hidden, but I was led to it by soft mossy pathway

Unable to resist the temptation to feel it’s wetness on my skin

I stepped into its shallows and I felt the magic begin

Cool clear water delights my toes

As it’s eddied memories slowly past me flow

Remembered knowledge of my brief youth

Startle me with its echoing truth

I’ve grown so ignorant in my advancing age

Or perhaps, gone numb with each years turning page

I’ve ignored the genius of my young innocence

Instead I’ve adopted a burnt char of exhausted brittleness

I’ve been looking so long, at all the wrong solutions

While muddying my name with a society’s pollutions

Now feeling the water carry away the dark energy toxins

Moisturizing my center, I can now see my options

If I could only stay here and in the water play

Let it hydrate me clean, and wear weary troubles away

I might be able to touch the little child, that’s inside me hid

Let her teach me my old ways, the ones before that I had forbid

And then with rapid clarity, and a sure certainty of truth

I realized this is the secret, I had in fact discovered the fountain of youth

It’s not a actual potion, or a hidden wishing well

It’s a feeling you capture inside, a remembrance, that’s the magic spell

We stay young through our heart, not though someone else’s eyes

But it’s with a unguarded child’s grace, that we are immortalized

 

~m

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. VictoryInTrouble · July 21

    Oh, this is absolutely stunning. Beautiful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Masala Vegan · July 21

    Beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. paintdigi · July 23

    Good articles, nice blog … Bravo
    I invite you to see my creations:
    http://paintdigi.wordpress.com
    welcome

    Liked by 1 person

  4. beautiful picture, fabulous writing… ❤ it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

