A World in S.O.S …—…

Originally posted on My Trending Stories

Late last week, British Labour Party Member of Parliament, Jo Cox was murdered while walking into a library in West Yorkshire for scheduled political event. The attack and murder, is an apparent hate crime with the suspect being linked to pro-Apartheid and neo-Nazi groups.

MP Jo Cox, was a very public figure who had a strong campaign background with issues relating to the Syrian Civil War with humanitarian efforts. Because of her dedicated work to better the world and shield it from hate, she became a target of hate herself.

I don’t consider myself even slightly competent to speak out on US politics, being my country of nationality, and even less competent and versed to be able to discuss politics on a world platform like that tragic event in the UK. But I do feel strongly about the hate, and am saddened and horrified by how it still consumes our population (worldly) and makes us all victims in such dire extremes.

Pull up any news forum of your choice, and anyone of them will have a top story that has been fuel by hate. From the Orlando shooting massacre, to the yesterday’s German Cinema attacker, to a more local story for me of a dispute that ended with violence because of this 4 lettered ‘H’ word.

I know hate has always existed, and there will never be a solution to rid the world of it completely. But still with that dejected statement, I can’t help but sit here watching with the paralyzed wide eyed expression at my world in disbelief, no it’s OUR world, that is in chaos and a chaotic rule because of hate. I can spill platitudes of ‘living the golden rule’ or ask ‘why can’t we all just get along?’, but talking about loving our neighbors and speaking of change to fight hate with love- well it isn’t enough. It never has been enough, we fooled ourselves to thinking it was. If we’re not applying and teaching our younger generations in the ways of tolerance of others unique differences, and teaching them the acceptance of others despite races, religions, political beliefs, sexual beliefs, the list goes on and on, and more so teaching them, and ourselves, that it is okay to disagree with others and their differing opinions without hating them. We need to stop teaching by the example of hate, and practice more in the giving love.

~m


Again, for the second time in a week I have found myself writing outside my usual poets optimistic daydreamers voice, and have posted on something more serious.  I don’t know what’s wrong with me!!! 🙂
3 comments

  1. chevvy8 · June 24

    I’m glad you posted this. I like to escape in my blog as well but in the end we still live in the real world. I’ve been listening to the outcome of the UK referendum all day which I have no doubt is a historical event with impacts yet to be realised. We’ve already seen the impacts of this outcome on our currency.
    On the issue of hate vs love – I can’t help but think that all the evils in the world have their seeds in hate,fear and greed. Love taken broadly if practiced should lead to more equal societies, less corruption and oppression and greater humility and respect. I agree with you that we have a responsibility to teach our children. But even, in this exchange with you from one stranger to another, one continent to another, we should be finding each other. Thank you for your post.😀 Chevvy

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is how it starts to get better- with us, one stranger to another. 🙂
      Thank you for taking the time to read and also taking the time to give kind and intelligent words in comment.
      hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

      • chevvy8 · June 24

        My pleasure – I’m on your wavelength at the moment.Have a great weekend! Chevvy

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

