Patchwork Heart

The seamstress’s original stitching may be a tad frayed,

Daily beatings has reversed tanned it’s leather to suede.

Years of wet tears have damaged the only wooden parts,

But there’s a magical thread stitched in this old Queen’s heart.

The broken pieces have expertly been sewn back in its shape of a box,

Crafty resembling my younger one, so mysterious it’s flummox.

Before the first slivered shatter of my happy heart happened,

Before life showed me truth and tried to color my heart blackened,

I wasn’t as strong and advanced as it is now,

The magical seamstress sewed into it the strength of a vow.

She added in hope and forgiveness with it’s threads,

And  taught me bravery in no hesitation with sending love widespread.

It was her kindness that made me who I am today

She saved me from my self-hate, her beautiful influence had me swayed.

Her sewing abilities have claimed me an original art,

All because she gave kindness, mending my patchwork heart.

 

~m

 

9 comments

  1. Kay · June 21

    This is beautiful, M!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dorinda Duclos · June 21

    Beautifully penned!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jonathan Caswell · June 22

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    AH, BUT THE OLD–EVEN PATCHED–IS OFTEN BETTER THAN THE NEWER!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

