That Wily Heart

I thought I saw your shadow today,

It passed between me and the sun.

My heart has cleverly seduced my short wired brain

With provocative games of footsie, just for fun.

 

Under the tablecloth of seduction

My heart tempts me by shamelessly flirt, touch and pine

She is persuasive in her irrational convictions

I am forever deceived by the sweet-voiced concubine.

 

So far my heart is undefeated

Always victorious with her persuading influence.

She convinces my thoughts, that it IS you that I have seen,

And I will wait for you with sanguine thoughts influent.

 

In love the heart bewitches us:

To watch

To see

To know

Dispelling that discouraging doubt

You will return to set me free- it is a matter of apropos.

 

~m

 

3 comments

  1. Mary Cathleen Clark · May 28, 2016

    Lovely poem. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

