I Wanna Go Back

Angel of Grief- William Wetmore Story(photo credit- Scott Haddow)

 

I wanna go back,

Before my brain and heart wracked.

Invariably fighting betwixt,

With their warring emotions unmixed.

I wanna go back,

Before this perpetual whirling in love’s cul-de-sac.

 

I wanna go back

To fortify my strength’s secret cache.

Recognition of your memories,

Erasing your glittered tattoo on my soul’s marquee.

I wanna go back,

Before this perpetual whirling in love’s cul-de-sac.

 

I wanna go back,

Lobotomy extreme, making a empty-headed goon amnesiac.

Desensitize and wrap me in my bleeding hearts tourniquets,

System restore it’s naive neglect. (And God I pray, make it permanent.)

I wanna go back,

Before this perpetual whirling in love’s cul-de-sac.

 

I wanna go back,

Before harsh conflicting feelings, fought and gnashed.

Time traveling to forget- if only just temporarily,

Offers an escape from a future alones uncertainty.

I just wanna go back…

Pleading to escape from this perpetual whirling in love’s cul-de-sac.

 

 

~m

6 comments

  1. VictoryInTrouble · May 2, 2016

    Love this:
    Erasing your glittered tattoo on my soul’s marquee

    I know what that’s like. Lovely poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lady Ate · May 2, 2016

    I know it so well… so I want to go back… yeah… to erase glittered tattoo on my soul… beautiful and all accurate for so many ppl. beautiful I love it. bravo 🌹💋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

