ghosts

(John William Waterhouse’s The Lady of Shalott)

 

You sit just out of reach

Always there

perceived

but only the peripheral.

 

Direct glances hide you

in the corner of my eye I catch

movement

but only in shadowy form.

 

My heart beats staccato

thinking it recognizes you

aching

but only wishful thinking.

 

I catch your memory

I hold it’s hand

trusting

confidant that it will be eternal.

 

~m

**I wrote Ghost after reading The Lady of Shalott by ย Lord Alfred Tennyson.
‘I am half-sick of shadows’. The Lady of Shalott

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. lamarrwenrich · March 7, 2016

    Breathtaking ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 2 people

  2. orgasmicsecrets · March 7, 2016

    Beautiful and inspiring!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. mysecretme75 · March 15, 2016

    This was beautiful! I love that quote too – half sick of shadows indeed. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

