Hand-slaps

I’ve written before on this word ‘synchronicity’ and experiencing its meaningful coincidences in regards to what I’ve been thinking on things with Mr. Bender, but what about synchronicity in our everyday life? It happens more than I think I realize.

Wikipedia defines synchronicity as this: Synchronicity is a concept, first explained by psychiatrist Carl Jung, which holds that events are “meaningful coincidences” if they occur with no causal relationship, yet seem to be meaningfully related.[1] 

But what if there is a causal relationship?

Just hear me out.

Around noon today I received a text from a family member, it was a text with pictures included of their family car broke down on the side of the highway and they were waiting for a tow truck. The text also said- THANKFUL. Minutes before the actual break down, they were forced to the side of the road because one of the children in the car was sick. It was while they were pulling over to help the child. that something in the motor went wrong(I don’t know the details of exactly what happened) but the point is- if that child had not gotten sick at that moment that she did, who knows what would have happened to my family while they were traveling close to 80mph?

then

Not even 30 minutes after that, I received a phone call from my son. He was also having ‘car’ trouble. He didn’t have the near miss as our other family members had experienced. But he also was going to need a tow truck.

What are the chances that 2 separate vehicles in the same extended family have mechanical issues on the same day and in the same hour? Is that just coincidence? And what are the chances of the child becoming sick forcing them to stop moments before the mechanical breakdown?

Now I’m not trying to say that I am under some fanatical belief that this is a sign that holds some magical meaning of what I need to do with my life. Instead I think my sign lesson in this is, it happened to stop my over thinking on synchronicity. I was taking it too far in my head looking for signs and meanings in everything. I am the personality type who wants answers to everything in life and I’m stubborn enough to exhaust myself with it too. This was a perspective check.  Yes, synchronicity exist and I think there is much we have yet to understand on how everything is relative and connected. But we don’t need to go reading into it more than what we’re given by the universe. Instead we just need to smile when we see them happening. Because we know when we know and when they are meant for us we will see them.

Again I’m going to have to keep reminding myself, and obviously the universe is having to step in and hand-slap me too,  that we must have patience and faith in something that is greater than ourselves. When it is time for us to know we will be given the signs and answers that we are looking for and not a before we are ready for them.

 

~m

2 comments

  1. mysecretme75 · March 15, 2016

    Very well thought out on synchronicity and I SO get what you mean about overanalyzing everything to the point you drive yourself crazy looking for, and wondering if, everything is a sign. I used to have terrible panic attacks and one of the triggers for me was this very thing. Was everything a sign? Something as mundane as driving to work would be a trigger. I’d make a sudden split decision to take a different route, or I’d think about it and not do it and then think “oh shit, what if that was a sign? What if I was supposed to go that way today to avoid a horrific accident?” That kind of thinking would launch my anxiety to the point I’d be in a full panic by the time I actually arrived at work. I also had these same feelings with my kids. I would suddenly think of one of them and wonder if my sudden thought meant they were in trouble? Like that telekinetic vibe mother’s sometimes have with their children. I’d be gripped with panic until I knew they were okay. Medication has greatly helped with this but so has experience in life and the knowing that, like you said, when its time for me to know the signs are for me I’ll know. It takes a practiced faith.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dont You Forget About Me · March 15, 2016

      Some days are easier to just chill, others I find I’m always second guessing if I’m seeing what I’m suppose to see. I think that the biggest part of all this is- It’s not we’re misreading signs, it’s that we’re afraid we’re going to miss the signs completely. That’s why we work ourselves up. Hugs*

      Like

Leave a Reply

